My Top 5 Favorite Diners In New Jersey

Although I have only lived in New Jersey for a couple years, I do know that we have the best diners…hands down! I am the biggest fan of diner food, so whenever it is time to grab breakfast (or even lunch, brunch or dinner!), you can most likely find me stuffing my face at one of my favorites.

When traveling through Jersey, whether it may be for a purpose or a random daytrip, I always make it a point to stop at a local diner and for two reasons. They always have the best food for the best price!!! Portion sizes at Jersey diners are always enough to satisfy your tastebuds and keep you full. Also, diner prices are never too pricey, so an entire meal is guaranteed not to put a dent in your pocket!

Whether you live in Jersey or if you ever plan to visit the Garden State, make it a must to visit a diner. Here are my top 5 favorites:

1. Pantagis, Edison, NJ

Pantagis is absolutely one of my favorite diners in New Jersey! It is open 24/7 so it is the perfect spot to enjoy a stack of pancakes at 3 a.m. The prices are solid (breakfast specials starting at $4.95) and portion sizes are worth every penny. They were also have the largest variety of bakery goods that are baked fresh every single day! The diner itself was awarded best diner for desserts in the State of New Jersey by Inside Jersey magazine. So if your sweet tooth is yearning for a place to dine, Pantagis is definitely the diner for you!

Unknown

3126 Woodbridge Ave, Edison, NJ 

 2. Amy’s Omelette House, Long Branch, NJ

Ahhhh, Amy’s! I discovered this treasure about a year ago and this place has literally changed the game on great diner eats. What is perfect about Amy’s is its location as it is located right next to the Jersey Shore. During the summer, this is the best place to dine before a perfect beach day! Regardless of the season, I always find myself traveling the extra mile for some great food. The atmosphere is super retro as the resutrant is decorated in antique items and old-school Jersey Shore memorabilia. The menu is HUGE and whatever you have a taste for, Amy’s is bound to have it. My favorite menu item is the pumpkin pancakes which are made to absolute perfection and is offered all year around!

amy-s-omelette-house.jpg

444 Ocean Blvd. N, Long Branch, New Jersey

 

3. The Colonial, East Brunswick, NJ

If you are looking for a diner with a classic feel, then the Colonial is the best diner for you. Once you walk in, you are immediately taken back to a different era. Each booth includes a mini jukebox and the sound of 1960’s music continues to hum through the speakers. The classic menu items (from what I have eaten) are delicious and they have hands down the best cappucino I have ever tasted. Also, they were recently named one of the best top 5 diners in Central Jersey by nj.com!

f2dc526e4d432c6764a12a4495e7fdf2.jpg

560 Highway 18, East Brunswick, NJ

Clinton Station Diner, Clinton, NJ

During my fall road trip to Pennsylvania, I was super excited to make a special pit stop at the Clinton Station Diner and my goodness, I was not disappointed!  The place is cute and quaint, representing what looks like an actual train station inside. Once you enter, the first thing you notice are the model trains that are suspended onto the ceiling and they even go around the entire restaurant. Where we sat we were situated next to a working fireplace which was super cozy! The diner is open 24/7 and offers a large array of breakfast, lunch and dinner. Billboards around the diner advertise the Mt. Olympus – an actual 50lb Burger! Although I am not sure who could finish a burger of that standard, there were photos that displayed a few “burger champions”! So if you are looking for a diner with a unique feel and great eats, the Clinton Station Diner is perfect for you!

main-dining-room.jpg

2 Bank St., Clinton, NJ

The Reo Diner, Woodbridge, NJ

Since they have been open since 1935, the Reo is not only a historical landmark but a great place to dine. “Meet me at the Reo” is there signature phrase and I can honestly say that I have used it on many occasions. Even when I lived in Florida, I would visit Central Jersey during the holidays to see family and the Reo was always at the top of my list to eat when I was in the area…and still is! The Reo is an instant classic and embraces its historical roots with jukeboxes and Bon Jovi and other Jersey celeb memorabilia decorated on the walls. The food never disappoints and for someone who has a huge appetite, the portions are huge. I am a huge breakfast person (I can eat it at any time of the day!), so whenever I make it out to the Reo I always order a plate of buttery French Toast. To this day, it is one of my favorite foods! So if you’re looking for a simple, classic and hospitable place to dine, head to the Reo.

-b7c8a00395c2cb52

392 Amboy Ave, Woodbridge, NJ

Leave a comment below on what your favorite diner is!

Until our next excursion…xo

3 thoughts on “My Top 5 Favorite Diners In New Jersey

Leave a Reply

