Spring Break Recap

Hey all! So as promised, I wanted to post an update on my Spring Break getaway! As you may have already seen on my last post, my vacation plans to a last minute turn. I had spent months planning the perfect road trip to Boston and once the unexpected snow had reared its ugly head on the news, I cancelled my accommodations and booked a trip to sunny South Florida!

With the Priceline Express deal option, they allow you to purchase a ticket at the lowest possible price with only one exception… they choose your take-off times! Thankfully I love early morning flights and my flight out to West Palm Beach, Florida was scheduled for 6 a.m. My boyfriend, Chris and I trekked to the airport at four-in-the-morning with little to no sleep! But the excitement was too much to bear.

I love airplanes. I don’t know it is, but there is something so serene about taking off and flying among the clouds. I was so at peace that I dozed off as soon as we took off into the sky and as soon as my eyes fluttered open…we had entered paradise.

The first thing you notice when you step off the plane is the heat! We had left New Jersey at 19 degree weather and it was so refreshing to hear the pilot declare that we would be landing at Palm Beach International Airport (PBI) in 78 degree sunshine. After collecting our bags, we ventured off to pick-up our rental car! When in West Palm Beach, I always rent through Sixt. This car company is super inexpensive compared to the on-site airport rental companies and although it is a few miles away from the airport, there is a convenient shuttle that circulates every five minutes to pick you up and drop you off!

275_SIXT-Rentals_tcm233-1083222

IMG_1072

Great deal on a Mercedes C Class with Sixt!

 

After picking up our car, I was absolutely starving so we ventured off to my favorite place to eat in West Palm Beach! A little cuban food spot called Havana located just a few exits south of i-95 from PBI has been coined as “The Best Food in Town”, and it is so true! The food comes in massive portions and just one bite of anything on their menu can send you straight to heaven. Within minutes of being seated, we were approached with incredible service and received our warm toasty cuban bread, beef empanadas, cuban sandwiches and bistec con arroz (steak and rice) within minutes.

IMG_1016

Photo Cred: Me!

 

dd16f9829e36ee9d94e3ebe9fc73c678

Photo Cred: Pinterest

After our bellies were full, we checked into our hotel. Again with the Priceline express deal, they give you the lowest price for a hotel in the area you are seeking…but you don’t know the hotel until after you’ve booked the deal! Thankfully, we got the Ramada which I was super excited about! I am a huge fan of Wyndham brand hotels and the Ramada really lived up to my expectations. They allowed us to check-in early which is always such a huge bonus for me and the front desk staff was super friendly. The property, although it could use some updates, was very clean and well maintained. The property had a beautiful pool area, laundry services, a business center and was only minutes away from great shopping and restaurants. Overall, I would definitely stay again if I was in the area!

46986_exterior_view_1

Photo Cred: Wydhamhotels.com

The next four days were filled with nothing but relaxation, beach trips, shopping and dining at some of my favorite restaurants in West Palm Beach!

Leave a Reply

