Change of Plans: Why You Should Always Go With The Flow

Hey all! So as spring break has unfortunately come to a close, I wanted to share with you my experience when it came to getting away this past week! So as you may have known from my previous posts, I was in the process of getting all set for my roadtrip to Boston, MA. I had the hotels booked and my travel check list all set as of months ago, so as the time quickly approached I genuinely felt more prepared than ever.

However, last Friday the terrible news struck. I turned on the Weather Channel only to discover that the Northeast would be expect a HUGE nor’easter…and as for Boston, that would mean over 24 inches of snow! I set into full-fledged panic mode as I realized that my plans had been completely ruined. There would be no way that my junky Nissan Sentra could handle trudging through a snow storm and who would want to explore this beautiful, historic town under state of emergency conditions. I had to come to grips that it would really not be safe to travel.

So Friday afternoon, I frantically called the hotel to cancel my reservation and kissed my perfect Spring Break vacation goodbye. I was so bummed that the vacation I was looking forward to for months was completely ruined. After many hours of feeling super upset, an idea struck me…

I had been talking about how I wanted to go back home to Florida for such a long time and what could be better than skipping out on this snow storm to bask in the hot sun! So I logged into my laptop and searched for any available plane tickets to the Sunshine State. Thanks to Priceline.com, I was able to find a pair of round-trip tickets to West Palm Beach, Florida for a great deal! I was on such a travel high that within an hour I had booked both my rental car and hotel accommodations. I had always been under the impression that saving travel plans for last minute would be a huge expense, but with Priceline.com’s express dealsΒ , I was able to book my four day trip for much less than what I expected!

Screen Shot 2017-03-22 at 10.39.28 AM

Thank you Priceline.com!

From there, it hit me. I would be leaving to Florida within 36 hours!!! And quite honestly, it was the best decision I ever made. I’ll go into more details about my trip in future posts (I promise to go over all the sunny deets!), but to get away from reality for a few days was so much needed. I always talk about how traveling is such an important remedy and I feel like I cannot emphasize it enough! The stress of school and work were really beginning to boil and that is why it was so important for me to get away this Spring Break. As soon as I stepped off the plane, I automatically felt a sense of serenity!

So the moral of the story is, go with the flow! Travel plans will sometimes fail to go the way that you want them to. When considering so many factors, such as weather or even personal-life situations, we can often become discouraged to fulfill an adventure we were looking forward to. But I encourage everyone to defy the odds! Instead of allowing plans to fall through or stressing over the unpreventable, always look on the bright side and live in the moment! As cliche as it sounds, you only live once. Make sure to make the most of every moment life has given you.

Just take myself for example…instead of wallowing in a snow storm, I spent a glorious four days wiggling my toes in the sand.

Until the next excursion…xo

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

