Charming Charleston

I woke up this morning reminiscing about one of my favorite east coast road trips… Charleston, South Carolina! Although the 16 hour car ride was pretty grueling, I can now confirm that I would re-do it again in a heart beat. Hands down. This quaint southern town was definitely a trip of a lifetime.

The first thing that you notice about Charleston is the heat! And as a Florida native, I was loving it. The heat was sizzling in mid-July and I definitely felt as if I thrived in it – humidity and all…it just felt like home.

I did not really know what to expect from Charleston, especially since it is not a city that you hear about too often, but I was incredibly surprised as to how much I LOVED this city. The first thing that catches your eye about Charleston is the historical charm. It literally jumps out at you at every corner. Charleston was founded in 1670 and is beautifully distinguished by its cobblestone streets, horse-drawn carriages and pastel antebellum houses.

On East Bay St., there is a fabulous attraction titled “Rainbow Row”, where a colorful cluster of historical houses are aligned! I actually just recently discovered that it is the longest cluster of Georgian row houses in the United States! (13 Total!!) It is gorgeous and such a great way to explore some architectural history.

img_0828

“Rainbow Row”, Photo Cred:redouble.com

Charleston is filled with activities to do – such as a fabulous shopping districts, an array of restaurants, historical landmarks (HUGE cannons from the Civil War align the bay), museums and incredible night life.

On our second night in Charleston, my boyfriend and I ate at an Irish Pub called Tommy Condons. The food was incredible and they even had a live band playing that afternoon! I demolished a huge plate of corn beef spring rolls and Irish Nachos! This was just a taste of the incredible eateries that Charleston has to offer.

IMG_0827.JPG

Tommy Condons, Photo Cred: TommyCondons.com

My FAVORITE part of Charleston was the Historic Charleston City Market. Essentially, this is just a vast one story market and that encompasses over 80+ vendors. When you’re walking through this ultimate wonderland, you are surrounded by a plethora of food, jewelry, handmade crafts, homemade baked goods, clothing, porcelain dolls — literally anything you can think of, this market has! Historically speaking, this market was founded in 1790 and is architecturally a dream, with cobblestone walkways and rustic undertones. To me, it was just an incredible feeling to be surrounded by so much vibrant and historical culture. And as a plus, I was able to walk away with a bunch of cool souvenirs to take home with me!

unknown

Photo Cred: theknot.com

Overall, there is so much to do in Charleston and quite frankly, I know that I didn’t even cover half of what this beautiful city has to offer. Therefore, I am making it a point to go back VERY soon and share with you the many more opportunities that Charleston encompasses.

Until our next adventure…xo.

 

Leave a Reply

